INDIA bloc offered Deputy PM post to Nitish Kumar, says report | Mint

4 Jun 2024

Copyright &copy HT Digital Streams Limited All Rights Reserved.

1 min read 04 Jun 2024, 03:32 PM IST Get Loan

Nitish Kumar - Figure 1
Photo Livemint


The opposition-led INDIA bloc offered Nitish Kumar the Deputy Prime Minister role and special status for Andhra Pradesh to NDA partners TDP and JDU. This came after the EC trends reflected that INDIA is giving tough competition to NDA alliance.

Premium Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. (HT Photo)

The opposition parties-led INDIA bloc has offered two key positions — Deputy Prime Minister for Nitish Kumar and special status for Andhra Pradesh — to lure two NDA partners, including the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the Janata Dal (United) (JDU), according to ABP News. 

Nitish Kumar's JDU is currently leading in 15 seats, with the NDA leading in a total of 13 seats, while the Opposition's INDIA bloc is ahead in 9. Interestingly, the RJD maintains its position as the party with the highest vote share in the state, having secured 23% of the total votes polled.

Nitish Kumar - Figure 2
Photo Livemint

Also Read | Live updates on Bihar Election Result 2024

The political climate in Bihar is reaching a fever pitch. Counting is currently underway at more than 36 centres across Bihar, following polling held for Lok Sabha seats in seven phases between April 19 and June 1.

The Bihar Lok Sabha Election 2024 features key candidates from major political parties, all vying for victory in their respective constituencies. This high-stakes election sees notable figures such as Samrat Choudhary (BJP), Nitish Kumar (Janta Dal), Chirag Paswan (Janshakti Party), and Tejashwi Yadav (INDIA) competing for dominance, alongside other influential candidates from the INDIA and NDA alliances.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the NDA swept Bihar, winning 39 out of the 40 seats. The BJP won 17 seats, JDU claimed 16, and LJP took home 6 seats. Congress managed to win just one seat, while the RJD, led by Tejashwi Yadav, failed to win any.

However, the 2014 general elections presented a different scenario. The BJP, not allied with JDU at the time, emerged as the largest party in Bihar, winning 23 seats. Its ally, LJP, won 6 seats. JDU, which contested alone, managed only 2 seats. 

The Congress, part of the Mahagathbandhan, won 2 seats. This starkly contrasts with 2019, where the NDA's united front resulted in a near-total sweep.

You are on Mint! India's #1 news destination (Source: Press Gazette). To learn more about our business coverage and market insights Click Here!

Catch all the live action on Elections and get exclusive coverage on Lok Sabha Election Results 2024 with Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.

More Less

Published: 04 Jun 2024, 03:15 PM IST

Next Story

Read more
Similar news
This week's most popular news